The subsidies paid by the Federal Government to the provinces amount to a total sum of \$4,244,623, which is apportioned as under:

| Ontario | \$1,339,287 |
|------------------------------|-------------------|
| Quebec | 1 096 714 |
| Nova Scotia New Brunswick | 432,814 |
| Manitoba. | 483,570 $437,601$ |
| British Columbia. | 243,585 |
| Prince Edward Island | 221,052 |

Under chap. 46, sec. 5, R. S. C., Manitoba is entitled to have a readjustment of her per capita allowance every $2\frac{1}{2}$ years, instead of once every 10 years, as is the case in the other provinces.

The provinces retain possession of the lands belonging to them before entering the Union; Manitoba, having no public lands at the time of its creation, has since received a gift of swamp lands from the general Government.

(4.) A Provincial Judiciary, to which reference is made in paragraph 44.

(5.) A Civil Service with officers appointed by the Provincial Government holding office, as a rule, during pleasure, and not removable for

political reasons.

- (6.) A municipal system by means of which the provinces enjoy local self-government, enabling the people in every local division, whether it be a village, a town, township, parish, city or county, to manage their own internal affairs in accordance with the liberal provisions of the various statutory enactments which are the result of the wisdom of the several legislatures of the different provinces within half a century. It is in the great province of Ontario that we find the system in its complete form. While this system is quite symmetrical in its arrangement, it is also thoroughly practical and rests upon the free action of the ratepayers in each municipality. The whole organization comprises:
- (a.) The minor municipal corporations, consisting of townships being rural districts of an area of eight or ten square miles, with a population of from 3,000 to 6,000.

(b.) Villages with a population of over 750.

(c.) Towns with a population of over 2,000. The council of every town consists of the mayor and of three councillors for each ward, where there are less than five wards, and of two for each ward, where there are five or more wards. Such of these as are comprised within a large district, termed a county, constitute:

(d.) The county municipality, which is under the government of a council composed of the heads of the different minor municipal divisions in such

counties as have already been constituted in the province.

(e.) Cities are established from the growth of towns when their population exceeds 15,000, and their municipal jurisdiction is akin to that of counties and towns combined. The council of every city consists of the mayor and three aldermen for each ward.

The townships and villages are administered by a reeve and councillors; the towns by a mayor and councillors. The governing body of the county municipality is composed of the reeves and deputy reeves of the townships, villages and towns within the county; one of these, who presides, being called the warden of the county.